Please log in or register to access members only content.

Club awards for 2008

G. H. Daniel's Trophy - awarded for the ‘Best Cross Country Flight’
Doug Gardner - For his 500km flight (AST-Gainsborough –Gransden Lodge-AST)

Bleaken Trophy – awarded for the ‘Best Height Gain’
Eugene Lambert - 10,840’ gain to 12,750 (Gold) at Eden Soaring 

Oldham Trophy – awarded for the Best Competition Finish
Brian Birlison - 2nd in 20m 2-seat Nationals; 25th in 15m Nats; 24th in 18m Nats,

Ron Hurcombe Tankard – awarded for the ‘Best Flight by an over 65 ‘
Ken Lloyd - For his 445 km flight (AST-Husbands Bosworth-Frome-Edgehill-AST)

Akehurst Trophy – awarded for ‘Best Junior Achievement ‘
Sam & Max Lazenby - this includes £25 each from the Dick Goldup/John Mardon Funds.

MacFadyen Trophy – awarded for ‘Best 2 seater flight’
Darren Edge and Mike Weston - For the first completed cross country task flight in a PW-6 (206km) 

Club Ladder Trophy
Doug Gardner - for winning with 12,370 points

Rita Holland trophy - awarded for the ‘Best Pre-Silver Flight’
Adrian Giles - for completing 5 hours (sadly, without a logger)

M.Weston Trophy for significant service to Cotswold Gliding Club
Simon Buckley

White Stick – Awarded for the most meritorious act of forgetfulness.
Eugene Lambert - for setting off for the flight home and forgetting to leave his car keys to allow his syndicate partner to bring the car and trailer home.

University of the West of England

Cotswold Gliding Club is proud to support the University of the West of England Gliding Club which also operates at Aston Down.
Their website can be found at and they can be contacted at


2008 Roll of Honour

First Solo

Ben Blackledge
Paul Heaven
Howard Woodward
Helena Gardner
Adam Vines
Tony Chapman
Chris Foster
Sarah Brown
Alex Mazzoleni

Bronze Badge

Tom Gardner
Ben Blackledge
Andrew Bailey

Syndicate content